Student Government

2153 Boylan Hall
P: 718.951.5352
F: 718.951.4315

Student government exists for all three academic divisions of the college: the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS), the School of General Studies (SGS) and the Graduate Students Organization (GSO). These governmental agencies represent student interests in reviewing, developing and modifying college policies. They poll members, report their opinions, and represent them on issues that concern them.

Each Brooklyn College student is a member of one of these organizations, which are funded by part of the consolidated fee that students pay each time they register for classes. Elections are held annually; any matriculated student may seek office. Meetings of the organizations are open to all students. These organizations also sponsor and give funds to student associations for their yearly activities. The student government is divided into three branches: Executive (president and vice president), Legislative (29 representatives) and Judiciary (three judges). It also has two political parties: Progressive Hatikvah Downtown (PHD) and United Students League (USL). Each party differs in opinions on various issues.

Click on the links below to learn about each student government.