Spring 2016 Workshops Schedule

Check 0203 James Hall for workshop information or call 718.951.5363. All times are p.m.

Stress Screening

  • Thursday, March 10: 12:15-2:15, 5117 James Hall

Test Anxiety

Does your mind go blank during exams? Do you study for exams and still not do well? Are you out of ideas about how to do better? This workshop will help you understand your anxiety and  provide concrete skills for managing it while studying for, and taking exams.

  • Tuesday, February 16: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, February 25: 6-7, 3410 James Hall
  • Thursday, March 3: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Tuesday, March 15: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, April 7: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Monday, April 18: 6-7, 5604 James Hall
  • Monday, May 9: 12:15-1:30, 3410 James Hall
  • Tuesday, May 10: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Tuesday, May 17:** 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, May 19:** 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall

Stress Management

Exhausted? Overwhelmed? Feel like your head is going to explode? This workshop will teach you the causes of stress, how to recognize when you are stressed, and relaxation and time management skills that will help you fight back!

  • Thursday, February 11: 6-7, 3410 James Hall
  • Tuesday, March 22: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Tuesday, March 29: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, April 14: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Monday, May 2: 12:15-1:30, 3410 James Hall
  • Monday, May 16: 12:15-1:30, 3410 James Hall
  • Tuesday, May 17:** 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, May 19:** 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall

Study Skills

Having trouble managing your course work? Falling behind in your reading? Struggling to keep up with what's going on in class? This workshop will help you improve your study skills by teaching you the best ways to read and keep track of class material, take notes in class, and review for exams.

  • Monday, February 8: 12:15-1:30, 3410 James Hall
  • Monday, February 22: 12:15-1:30, 3410 James Hall
  • Monday, February 29: 6-7, 5604 James Hall
  • Monday, March 7 12:15-1:30, 3410 James Hall
  • Thursday, March 17: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, March 24: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Monday, April 4 6-7: 5604 James Hall
  • Tuesday, April 12: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, April 21: 6-7, 3410 James Hall
  • Thursday, May 5: 6-7, 3410 James Hall

Time Management and Procrastination

Having trouble managing the demands of college, work, family, relationships, and fun? Wondering how you can make time for everything? So overwhelmed you keep putting things off? This workshop provides advice and concrete skills that will help you manage your demanding schedule and make time for yourself.

  • Tuesday, February 2: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, February 18: 6-7, 3410 James Hall
  • Tuesday, March 8: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, March 31: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Monday, April 11: 6-7, 5604 James Hall
  • Tuesday April 19: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Tuesday, May 3: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Thursday, May 12: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall

Effective Communication

Having trouble getting your point across? Not sure how talk to your professor about your grades? Putting off meeting with your adviser because you're not sure what to talk about? This workshop will help you understand why these situations are hard for you and teach you ways of managing your fears and organizing your thoughts.

  • Thursday, February 4: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Tuesday, February 23: 6-7, 1309 James Hall
  • Tuesday, March 1: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall
  • Monday, March 14: 12:15-1:30, 3410 James Hall
  • Monday, March 21: 6-7, 5604 James Hall
  • Monday, March 28: 6-7, 5604 James Hall
  • Tuesday, April 5: 12:15-1:30, 2101 James Hall

**The Test Anxiety and Stress Management workshops will take place simultaneously on these dates.