Awards Ceremony

Enclosed American Control of the 16th Annual Faculty Day Awards Ceremony

Student Center
Wednesday, May 23, 2012
Penthouse, 3:45 p.m.
www.facultyday.org

Introductory Remarks

Graciela Elizalde-Utnick, School Psychology, Counseling and Leadership

Presentation of Awards

Award for Excellence in Teaching

Brian P. Sowers, *Classics* presented by Rose Bonczek, *Theater*

Award for Excellence in Creative Achievement

Ben Lerner, English presented by Gerald Oppenheimer, Health and Nutrition Sciences

Eric M. Steinberg Award for College Citizenship

Peter M. Taubman, Secondary Education presented by Mark Kobrak, Chemistry

The Claire Tow Distinguished Teacher Award

Roberto Sánchez-Delgado, Chemistry presented by Hervé Queneau, Finance and Business Management

Brooklyn College Choir

Directed by James Bowyer, Conservatory of Music

- · Route 66 (arr. Dick Averre)
- · Tuxedo Junction (arr. Jerry Nowak)

Distinguished and Named Professorships and Fellowships

Distinguished Professors

Eric Alterman, English

Edwin Burrows, History

Tania León, Conservatory of Music

Ursula Oppens, Conservatory of Music

Rohit Parikh, Computer and Information

Science

Theodore Raphan, Computer and Information Science

Anthony Sclafani, Psychology

Mac Wellman, English

Broeklundian Professors

Robert Cherry, Economics

Timothy Gura, Speech Communication Arts and Sciences

Gerald Oppenheimer, Health and Nutrition Sciences

The Jay Newman Endowed Chair in the Philosophy of Culture

John Ayotunde Isola Bewaji, Philosophy

Presidential Professors

Archie Rand, Art

Shlomo Silman, Speech Communication Arts and Sciences

The Claire Tow Distinguished Teacher Award

Hervé Queneau, Finance and Business Management

Claire and Leonard Tow Professors

Ray Allen, Conservatory of Music

Arthur Bankoff, Anthropology and Archaeology

Scott Dexter, Computer and Information Science

Tanni Haas, Speech Communication Arts and Sciences

Regine Latortue, Africana Studies

Angelica Nuzzo, Philosophy

Juergen Polle, Biology

Tobie S. Stein, Theater

Ellen Tremper, English

David Troyansky, History

Endowed Chair in Women's Studies

Lynda Day, Africana Studies

Alessandra Di Maio, University of Palermo

Belle Zeller Visiting Professor in Public Policy and Administration

Lisette Nieves, Political Science

The Carol Zicklin Endowed Chair in the Honors Academy

Stefano Ghirlanda, Psychology

Sheldon Krimsky, Philosophy

The Carol and Larry Zicklin Endowed Chair in Sciences

Luis Quadri, Biology

Whiting Teaching Awards in the Humanities

Alan Aja, Puerto Rican and Latino Studies

Amy E. Hughes, Theater

Stephanie Jensen-Moulton, Conservatory of Music

Brigid O'Keeffe, History

David M. Schur, Classics

Karl Steel, English

Justin Steinberg, Philosophy

Karen B. Stern, History

Wolfe Institute Faculty Fellows

Christopher Ebert, History

Joseph Entin, English

Bernd Renner, Modern Languages and Literatures

Liv Yarrow, Classics

