

The 21st Annual Faculty Day Conference

Penthouse, Student Center Wednesday, May 24, 2017

3:45 p.m.

brooklyn.cuny.edu/facultyday

Introductory Remarks

Jeremy Porter, Sociology and Children and Youth Studies Michelle J. Anderson, President

Presentation of Awards

The Claire Tow Distinguished Teacher Award

María Scharrón-del Río, School Psychology, Counseling and Leadership presented by Jennifer Ball, Art

Award for Excellence in Teaching for a Full-Time Faculty Member

Gail Horowitz, Chemistry presented by Catherine McEntee, Biology

Award for Excellence in Teaching for a Part-Time Faculty Member

JoAnn Luhrs, Classics presented by Margaret Araneo, Theater

Award for Excellence in Creative Achievement

Jennifer McCoy, Art presented by Archie Rand, Art

Award for Excellence in Research

Tammy Lewis, Sociology presented by Frederick Wasser, Television and Radio

Outstanding Graduate Deputy Award

Mark Ungar, Political Science presented by Beth Evans, Library

Outstanding Undergraduate Deputy Award

Roni Natov, English presented by Ellen Tremper, English

Award for Excellence in Academic Outcomes Assessment

Christopher Richards, Art presented by Dov Fischer, Accounting

Eric M. Steinberg Award for College Citizenship

Carolina Bank Muñoz, Sociology presented by Louise Hainline, Psychology

Distinguished and Named Professorships and Fellowships

Distinguished Professors

Eric Alterman, English

Tania León, Conservatory of Music

Benjamin Lerner, English

Ursula Oppens, Conservatory of Music

Rohit Parikh, Computer and Information Science

Theodore Raphan, Computer and Information Science

Jeanne Theoharis, Political Science

Mac Wellman, English

Tow Professorships

2016-2017

Jillian Cavanaugh, Anthropology and Archaeology

Joshua Fogel, Business Management

Shuming Lu, Speech Communication Arts and Sciences

Kip Marsh, Theater

Judylee Vivier, Theater

2017-2018

Paisley Currah, Political Science

Alexander Greer, Chemistry

Tammy Lewis, Sociology

Jennifer McCoy, Art

Laura Rabin, Psychology

Marshall G. Kaplan Chair in Municipal Government

Daniel Tinkelman, Accounting

Herbert Kurz Chair in Constitutional Law and Civil Liberties

Anna Law, Political Science

Herbert Kurz Chair in Finance and Risk Management

Hyuna Park, Finance

Jay Newman Chair in the Philosophy of Culture

Serene Khader, Philosophy

Madelon Leventhal Rand Chair in Literature

Marjorie Welish, English

Daniel M. Lyons Professorship in American History

Benjamin Carp, History

Women's Studies Endowed Chair

Swapna Banerjee, History

Carol L. Zicklin Honors Academy Chair

Brenda Foley, Theater

Carol and Larry Zicklin Chair in Science

Luis Quadri, Biology

Lester D. and Alice Crow Professorship in Education and Counseling

Lulu Song, Early Childhood Education/Art Education

Bernard H. Stern Professor of Humor

David Forbes, School Psychology, Counseling and Leadership

Belle Zeller Visiting Professorship in Public Policy and Administration

JoAnn Wypijewski, Political Science

Whiting Teaching Awards in the Humanities

2016-2017

Madeline Fox, Sociology Lauren Mancia, History

2017-2018

Christopher Richards, Art

Wolfe Institute Faculty Fellows

2016-2017

Serene Khader, Philosophy

2017-2018

Brigid O'Keeffe, History

Brooklyn College

