Awards Ceremony

FACULTY DAY CONFERENCE Penthouse, Student Center Wednesday, May 25, 2016 www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/facultyday

C

ANNIVERSARY

 $\mathbf{e}\mathbf{e}$

Introductory Remarks

James Davis, English Karen L. Gould, President

Presentation of Awards

The Claire Tow Distinguished Teacher Award Jennifer Ball, *Art* Myles Bassell, *Business Management* presented by James Davis, *English*

Award for Excellence in Teaching for a Full-Time Faculty Member Catherine McEntee, *Biology* presented by Louise Hainline, *Psychology*

Award for Excellence in Teaching for a Part-Time Faculty Member Margaret Araneo, *Theater* presented by Michael Goyette, *Classics*

Outstanding Graduate Deputy Award Michael Rawson, *History* presented by Benzion Chanowitz, *Psychology*

Award for Excellence in Academic Outcomes Assessment Dov Fischer, Accounting Hershey Friedman, Business Management presented by Provost William Tramontano

Award for Excellence in Creative Achievement Archie Rand, Art presented by Mona Hadler, Art

Award for Excellence in Research Frederick Wasser, *Television and Radio* presented by Irene Sosa, *Television and Radio*

Eric M. Steinberg Award for College Citizenship Maria Perez y Gonzalez, *Puerto Rican and Latino Studies* presented by Eric Steinberg (*Associate Provost*, 1989-2003)

Distinguished and Named Professorships and Fellowships

Distinguished Professors

Eric Alterman, English Tania León, Conservatory of Music Ursula Oppens, Conservatory of Music Rohit Parikh, Computer and Information Science Theodore Raphan, Computer and Information Science

Anthony Sclafani, *Psychology* Jeanne Theoharis, *Political Science* Mac Wellman, *English*

Presidential Professors Archie Rand, Art Shlomo Silman, Speech Communication Arts and Sciences

The Tow Professorships 2015-2016 Maria Contel, *Chemistry* Douglas Geers, *Conservatory of Music* Mojúbàolú Olúfúnké Okome, *Political Science* Alfred Rosenberger, *Anthropology and Archaeology* Robert Shapiro, *Judaic Studies*

2016-2017

Jillian Cavanaugh, Anthropology and Archaeology Joshua Fogel, Business Management Shuming Lu, Speech Communication Arts and Sciences

Kip Marsh, Theater

Judylee Vivier, Theater

Lester D. and Alice Crow Professorship in Education and Counseling

Linda Louis, Early Childhood Education/ Art Education

Matthew J. Fantaci Professorship in Modern Languages and Literatures

Alejandro Alonso, Modern Languages and Literatures

Herbert Kurz Endowed Chair in Constitutional Law and Civil Liberties Anna Law, *Political Science*

Herbert Kurz Endowed Chair in Finance and Risk Management Hyuna Park, *Finance*

Daniel M. Lyons Chair of History Benjamin Carp, *History*

Jay Newman Endowed Chair in the Philosophy of Culture Serene Khader, *Philosophy*

Madelon Leventhal Rand Chair in Literature Marjorie Welish, English

Bernard H. Stern Professor of Humor David Forbes, School Psychology, Counseling and Leadership

Belle Zeller Visiting Professor in Public Policy and Administration

JoAnn Wypijewski, Political Science

Carol Zicklin Endowed Chair in the Honors Academy Sharon Zukin, *Sociology*

Carol and Larry Zicklin Endowed Chair in Sciences Luis Quadri, *Biology*

Whiting Teaching Awards in the Humanities 2015-2016 Kosal Path, Political Science

2016-2017 Madeline Fox, *Sociology* Lauren Mancia, *History*

Wolfe Institute Faculty Fellows 2015-2016 Daniel Campos, *Philosophy* Amy Hughes, *Theater*



