Awards Ceremony

The 19th Annual Faculty Day Conference

Penthouse, Student Center Wednesday, May 20, 2015 3:45 p.m. www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/facultyday

Introductory Remarks

Katherine Hejtmanek, Anthropology and Archaeology Karen L. Gould, President

Presentation of Awards

The Claire Tow Distinguished Teacher Award James Davis, *English* presented by Peter Taubman, *Secondary Education*

Award for Excellence in Teaching for a Full-Time Faculty Member Susan Davis, Conservatory of Music presented by Sharon Beaumont-Bowman, Speech Communication Arts and Sciences

Award for Excellence in Teaching for a Part-Time Faculty Member Michael Goyette, *Classics* presented by Diana Horowitz, *Art*

Outstanding Graduate Deputy Award Benzion Chanowitz, *Psychology* presented by Patrick Kavanagh, *Acting Director of Graduate Studies*

Award for Excellence in Creative Achievement Matthew Burgess, *English* presented by Sarah Christman, *Film*

Award for Excellence in Research Juergen Polle, *Biology* presented by David Grubbs, *Conservatory of Music*

Eric M. Steinberg Award for College Citizenship Louise Hainline, *Psychology* presented by Wayne Reed, *Childhood*, *Bilingual and Special Education*

Distinguished and Named Professorships and Fellowships

Distinguished Professors

Eric Alterman, English Tania León, Conservatory of Music Ursula Oppens, Conservatory of Music Rohit Parikh, Computer and Information Science Theodore Raphan, Computer and Information Science Anthony Sclafani, Psychology Jeanne Theoharis, Political Science

Mac Wellman, English

Presidential Professors

Archie Rand, Art

Shlomo Silman, Speech Communication Arts and Sciences

Claire and Leonard Tow Professors 2014-2015

Carol Connell, Finance and Business Management

Andrew Delamater, *Psychology* Kenneth Gould, *Sociology and Urban Sustainability*

Laurie Rubel, Secondary Education

2015-2016

Maria Contel, ChemistryKoDouglas Geers, Conservatory of MusicWoMojúbàolú Olúfúnké Okome, Political ScienceWoAlfred Rosenberger, Anthropology and
ArchaeologyArRobert Shapiro, Judaic StudiesMi

Belle Zeller Visiting Professor in Public Policy and Administration

Elizabeth Featherstone, Political Science

The Carol Zicklin Endowed Chair in the Honors Academy

Miguel Diaz Barriga, Anthropology and Archaeology

Daniel M. Lyons Chair of History

Benjamin Carp, History

Jay Newman Endowed Chair in the Philosophy of Culture

Serene J. Khader, Philosophy

Herbert Kurz Associate Professor in Constitutional Law and Civil Liberties

Anna Law, Political Science

The Carol and Larry Zicklin Endowed Chair in Sciences

Luis Quadri, Biology

Bernard H. Stern Professor of Humor

David Forbes, School Psychology, Counseling and Leadership

Whiting Teaching Awards in the Humanities

2014-2015

Helen Phillips, English

2015-2016

Kosal Path, Political Science

Wolfe Institute Faculty Fellows 2014-2015

Anna Law, Political Science Michael Menser, Philosophy Michael Rawson, History

2015-2016 Daniel Campos, *Philosophy* Amy Hughes, *Theater*



