2012 Symposium on Electroacoustic Performance


On April 21, 2012, composers and performers of electroacoustic music gathered at Brooklyn College to discuss issues of electroacoustic music performance.

Events included numerous short presentations, two panels and some moderated group discussion. The purpose of the symposium was for performers and composers to share with one another and provide insight to one another, on topics ranging from the most practical (such as getting good sound onstage) to more philosophical (such as addressing musicians' problems performing with electronic sounds.) The full list of participants is below.

The format of the day included numerous seven-minute presentations by participants (each followed by two minutes of Q&A). This rapid-pace series of talks was intended to provide introductions to participants' ideas, which could then be pursued more fully in discussions or with additional materials posted online by the presenters.


11 a.m.

Coffee and introductions

11:15 a.m.

Welcome and Day's Overview
Professor Bruce MacIntyre (Chair, Conservatory of Music of Brooklyn College), Professor Tania León (Director, Music Composition Department) and Associate Professor Douglas Geers (symposium director).

30 a.m. –1 p.m.

Short Presentations I

  • 11:30 a.m.: Marianne Gythfeldt —Have We Lost Our Place? The Many Roles of the Acoustic Instrumentalist in Electronic Music"
  • 11:40 a.m.: David Wetzel —New Realizations of Existing Interactive Electroacoustic Works: Repertoire, Sustainability and Discovery"
  • 11:50 a.m.: Jeff Snyder —Electronic Made Acoustic"
  • Noon: Elizabeth Hoffman —Believe: Toward a Theory of Listener Embeddedness in Electroacoustic Composition"
  • 12:10 p.m.: Terry Pender —Aural Hygiene"
  • 12:20 p.m.: Robert Rowe —Interaction, Emotion and Deriving Musical Signals From Audio"
  • 12:30 p.m.: Martha Mooke —Plugging in the Muse (Batteries Not Included)"
  • 12:40 p.m.: Michael Klingbeil —Mining the Spectrum"
  • 12:50 p.m.: Rebecca Fiebrink —Using Machine Learning to Support an Embodied Approach to Building New Digital Musical Instruments"
  • 1 p.m.: Maja Cerar —Visual Performer"

1:15 p.m.

Open Discussion on Topics of Electroacoustic Performance

2 p.m.

Concurrent demonstration by David Wetzel of his Interactive Event Manager software.

2:45 p.m.

Panel 1: Performing Acoustic Instruments With Electronics
Panelists Maja Cerar, Mari Kimura, Esther Lamneck, Martha Mooke, Todd Reynolds, Madeleine Shapiro and David Wetzel

3:30 p.m.

Panel 2: Performing With Electronic Instruments
Panelists Luke Dubois, Rebecca Fiebrink, Douglas Geers, Damon Holzborn, Jaime Oliver and Jeff Snyder

4:15 p.m.

Break and Relocation to 206G Roosevelt Hall Extension

4:30 –6 p.m.

Short Presentations II

  • 4:30 p.m.: Mari Kimura —Organic Technology"
  • 4:40 p.m.: Madeleine Shapiro —DanceMad: Motion Tracking Cello Solo"
  • 4:50 p.m.: Jules Gimbrone —Using our Bodies : Performativity, Collaboration and Interactivity"
  • 5 p.m.: Red Wierenga —The Importance of Touch in New Digital Musical Instrument Design"
  • 5:10 p.m.: Damon Holzborn —I <3 Monotron"
  • 5:20 p.m.: Dafna Naphtali —Present"
  • 5:30 p.m.: Douglas Cohen —Shared Limits in Performance"
  • 5:40 p.m.: Jaime Oliver —Contingency Patching: Designing Architectures for Computer Improvisation With CPU Optimization"
  • 5:50 p.m.: Hans Tammen —The Endangered Guitar, a Hybrid Guitar/Software Instrument for Experimental Music"
  • 6 p.m.: Douglas Geers —Are We Performing Yet? Addressing the Cognitive Dissonances of Electroacoustic Ensemble Performance"

6:10 p.m.

Short Break and Informal Discussion

6:30 p.m.

Concluding Presentation and Performance
"Never Enough RAM —The Eternal Saga of a Stereo Pair"
R. Luke Dubois, Todd Reynolds


Maja Cerar, Columbia University
Douglas Cohen, Brooklyn College
R. Luke Dubois, NYU Polytechnic
Rebecca Fiebrink, Princeton University
Douglas Geers, CUNY, Brooklyn College
Jules Gimbrone, Brooklyn College
Marianne Gythfeldt, University of Delaware
Elizabeth Hoffman, NYU
Damon Holzborn, Columbia University
Mari Kimura, Juilliard
Michael Klingbeil, Yale University
Esther Lamneck, NYU
Tania León, CUNY, Brooklyn College
Martha Mooke, ASCAP, Yamaha Artist
Dafna Naphtali, NYU, Brooklyn College
Jaime Oliver, Columbia University
Terry Pender, Columbia University
Todd Reynolds, Manhattan School of Music
Robert Rowe, NYU
Madeleine Shapiro, Mannes College of Music
Jeff Snyder, Princeton University
Hans Tammen, Harvestworks
David Wetzel, Mansfield University
Red Wierenga, CUNY

More Information

All questions and inquiries about this event should be made to Doug Geers.