Current Events

February

March

Monday, March 9: Becoming Julia de Burgos with Vanessa Perez Rosario

Monday, March 16: This is the Skin of the Whit[e] Man: The Material Culture of Violence in Sullivan's Campaign with Zara Anishanslin

Thursday, March 19: Annual Frances Haidt Lecture Series - European Anti-Semitism: Past and Present with David Berger 

Thursday, March 19: Writing an Early Modern Life: The Case of Richard Stonley with Alan Stewart *This event was originally scheduled for Thursday, March 5

Wednesday, March 25: MFA Intergenre Reading Series with Rae Armantrout and Brett Anthony Johnston

Monday, March 23 – Thursday, March 26: Robert L. Hess Scholar-in-Residence Program with guest, Thomas Frank

Monday, March 23: Writing Public History

Monday, March 23: Listening to What People Actually Say

Monday, March 23: Pity the Billionaire

Tuesday, March 24: Writing on the Left: Is there a Left Public Sphere?

Tuesday, March 24: New Media and Journalism

Tuesday, March 24: Commodify Your Dissent

Wednesday, March 25: One Market Under God

Wednesday, March 25: Robert L. Hess Memorial Lecture by Thomas Frank - Against Creativity

Thursday, March 27: Conquest of Cool

Thursday, March 27: On the Obama Legacy: A Dialogue with Thomas Frank and Paul Krugman

Monday, March 30: Latino Core Communities in Transition: The Erasing of an Imaginary Nation with Ed Morales

Monday, March 30: Understanding the Recent Israeli Elections

Monday, March 30: Experiments in Joy: Black Feminist Performance Art (in) Practice with Gabrielle Civil

April

Thursday, April 2: Bukharian Jewish Music and Musicians in New York with Evan Rapport

Monday, April 20: Performing Race, Place, and Hybridity in the Music of the Talking Heads with Jake Cohen

Monday, April 20: Reading and Conversation with Miguel Algarin 

Wednesday, April 22: MFA Intergenre Reading Series with John Yau and Nell Freudenberger

May

Thursday, May 7: Whiting Seminar

Monday, May 11: Foreign-Language Opera in New York: A Cultural Experiment 1825-34