The City University of New York (CUNY) is a multi-campus publicly funded system, the nation's third largest university, and the nation's leading urban university. The Graduate School of CUNY oversees all doctoral training within the university. In psychology, doctoral training is divided among 11 subprograms, each of which focuses on particular areas of doctoral training. Three of the subprograms in psychology are housed at the CUNY Graduate Center in midtown Manhattan, while the other seven subprograms are located at Baruch, Brooklyn, City, Hunter and Queens colleges.

The doctoral subprogram in psychology at Brooklyn College is titled "Psychology: Cognition, Brain, and Behavior." We are a broad and general program with strong training in a wide variety of areas, and dedicated to the empirical study of cognitive function, from its neurological basis to its implications for healthy mental life. The program is designed to prepare students for careers in basic and applied research in academic and other settings. The Ph.D. program stresses research experience under the supervision of faculty advisers throughout a student's graduate career. The major emphasis is on the study of higher mental functioning, neuroscience, social cognition, cognitive development and sensory and perceptual processes. Besides acquiring skills specific to their research interests, students are strongly encouraged to become familiar with general theoretical principles and with analytical, computational and statistical techniques that are applicable to a wide range of basic and applied research problems. Students are also given strong training in the teaching of psychology.

In addition to courses offered at Brooklyn College, students may register in doctoral courses offered by any of the subprograms across the seven CUNY campuses as well as courses at New York University and Columbia University through a consortium agreement. Students engage in research conducted at Brooklyn College as well as through faculty collaborations with many research institutes and facilities across the city, including Mt. Sinai Hospital, Institute for Basic Research, New York Presbyterian Hospital; SUNY Downstate Medical Center, and NYU School of Medicine.