Awards and Scholarships

Many awards and scholarships are available to students in the Department of Modern Languages and Literatures, including the following.


Dorothy Lascher-Schlitt Award

To be used to enable students who might not otherwise do so to attend noteworthy performances of works related to the studies of modern languages by visiting foreign or domestic dramatic or musical companies.

Julia Schwabe Award

To meritorious students as determined by the Department of Modern Languages and Literatures, with preference given to students studying German.

Louise Haessler Senior Award

Award of up to $1,000 to students who majored with distinction in German.

Moliere Award

To a non-native French-speaking student who is outstanding on the advanced level.


Angela Ferretti Scholarship in Romance Language

To a graduate student in the study of Romance languages.

Julian E. and Margaret R. Miranda Scholarship for the Pursuit of Italian Studies

To students born of Italian parents who demonstrate financial need and are interested in the study of the language, literature, history and culture of Italy.