## Brooklyn College Policy Council Minutes of the September 26, 2018 Meeting

**Present:** Provost Anne Lopes, SVP Alan Gilbert; Associate Provost Tammy Lewis, Executive Director Steven Schechter, Assistant Vice President Jason Carey, Vice President Ronald Jackson, Dean April Bedford Dean Maria Conelli, Acting Dean Kenneth Gould, Dean Willie Hopkins, Dean Kleanthis Psarris, Professor Douglas Cohen, Professor Maria Contel, Professor Prudence Cumberbatch, Professor Namulundah Florence, Professor Yehuda Klein, Professor Sharona Levy, Professor Jacqueline Shannon, Sophia Suarez, Professor Jocelyn Wills, Etyan Galanter (CLAS), Alyssa Taylor (CLAS), Stephanie Ortega (CLAS), David Schykerynec (CLAS), Fay Yanofsky (SGS), Ashaney Ewen (SGS), Mark Koegel (SGS), Salma Mohamed (SGS), David Wells (GSO), Keith Magnussen (GSO).

**Absent:** Professor Myles Bassell, Professor Mobina Hashmi, Professor Yedidyah Langsam, Professor Mark Kobrak, Jose Garcia, Moira Rousseau.

## **Non-voting:** Nicole Haas.

- 1. Provost Lopes welcomed the group. There was a go-around for introductions.
- 2. The constituent groups identified their Executive Committee representatives, and the following members were approved by a unanimous vote of the full Policy Council: Student representative Fay Yanofsky; faculty representative Yedidyah Langsam; administration representative Anne Lopes.
- 3. David Schykerynec was elected to serve as Secretary.
- 4. A vote was taken to approve the minutes of the April 26, 2018 meeting. There were 10 votes in the affirmative and 19 abstentions.
- 5. The charge and composition of standing committees were reviewed. Members of the Executive Committee will reach out to their constituents to recruit committee members to serve.
- 6. SGS President Fay Yanofsky asked that consideration be given in spring 2019 for a change in meeting time to the evening at 6:00 p.m. or 7:00 p.m.

The meeting adjourned at 5:33 p.m.