BROOKLYN COLLEGE POLICY COUNCIL

Minutes of the

October 6, 2021 General Meeting

5:00pm via Zoom

Present: President Michelle J. Anderson, Provost Anne Lopes, Senior Vice President Alan Gilbert, Vice President Ronald Jackson, Chief Legal Officer Tony Thomas, Chief Diversity Officer Anthony Brown, Associate Provost Tammy L. Lewis, Dean Peter Tolias, Dean Kenneth Gould, Dean April Bedford, Dean Qing Hu, Dean Maria Conelli, Professor Jennifer Basil, Professor Jennifer Cherrier, Professor Douglas Cohen, Professor Maria Contel, Professor Beth Evans, Professor Namulundah Florence, Professor Louise Hainline, Professor Mobina Hashmi, Professor James Lynch, Professor Sophia N. Suarez, Professor Yedidyah Langsam, Professor Mark Kobrak, Louis Di Meglio (GSO), Aharon Grama (USG), Flavia Shyti (USG), Iqura Naheed (USG), Sarali Cohen (USG), David Dweck (USG), Enmanuel Valdez (USG), Jana Taoube (USG), Alyssa Taylor (GSO), Amina Tariq (USG alternative), Yisroel Shulman (USG alternative), Maria Jose Romero (USG),

Absent: Thomas D. Santiago (GSO), Chika Otisi (USG),

Non- voting: Zunera Ahmed

1. President Anderson called meeting to order at 5:05 pm

- 2. Discussion took place regarding the vote to approve Standing Committees of Policy Council. President Anderson ruled to have a vote for the executive committee separately from the vote for all Standing Committees.
- 3. Louis Di Meglio (GSO) moved to approve the Executive committee. Professor Jennifer Basil seconded. 35 yes, 1 no, 0 abstain. The Executive Committee members were elected: Senior Vice President Alan Gilbert, Professor Yedidyah Langsam, Aharon Grama (USG).
- 4. Louis Di Meglio (GSO) moved to approve the Standing Committees. Professor Namulundah Florence seconded. 33 yes, 2 no, 1 abstain.
- 5. David Dweck (USG) was elected to serve as Secretary unanimously
- 6. Sarali Cohen (USG) moved to approve the minutes of the 4/28/2021 meeting. Aharon Grama (USG) seconded the motion. 35 yes, 0 no, 1 abstain.
- 7. Future Policy Council meetings:

Wednesday, November 3 Wednesday, December 8

Spring 2022 Wednesday, February 23 Wednesday, March 23 Wednesday, April 27

8. David Dweck (USG) moved to adjourn the meeting. Aharon Grama (USG) seconded the motion. 36 yes, 0 no, 0 abstain.

Meeting adjourned 6:10pm

Standing Committees of Policy Council: 2021-2022

<u>Committee</u> <u>Members</u>	Student Members	Faculty Members	Administration
Executive (3)	Aharon Grama	Yedidyah Langsam	Alan Gilbert
Governance (6) and Policy	Aharon Grama	Mark Kobrak	Tammy Lewis
	Louis Di Meglio	Yedidyah Langsam	Tony Thomas
Faculty/Student Relations (7)	Iqura Naheed Jana Taoube Louis Di Meglio	Beth Evans Jennifer Basil James Lynch	Ron Jackson
Fiscal, Infrastructure and Planning (9)	Flavia Shyti	Douglas Cohen	Alan Gilbert
	David Dweck	Maria Contel	Tammie Cumming
	Louis Di Meglio	Louise Hainline	Michael Lanza
External Relations (6)	Aharon Grama	Jennifer Cherrier	Michelle Anderson
	Louis Di Meglio	Sophia Suarez	Todd Galitz

Term of Office:

Student members – Fall 2021– Spring 2022 Faculty members – Fall 2021 – Spring 2023